Love

Learning to Cast my Cares on God

“You’re lab report will be due two weeks from now. There are no page specifications, just follow the guidelines I’ve provided.”

“You’re one of my best friends.”

“You have to finish choreographing your dance…Your dance has been declined” admission.

“Our house finally sold, but we won’t get as much money out of it as we had hoped.”

“I injured my foot. I’m not sure what I did but everything hurts it, walking, dancing…What’ll I do? Dance is my passion…I won’t have an outlet!”

Sometimes, life gets busy and I neglect spending time with God. Sometimes, I allow myself to get overwhelmed by what’s going on. Sometimes, good things fill me with joy while bad things grieve me. But sometimes, I let the bad things outweigh the good…Why do we hold onto things that we would be better off letting go of? Someone says something rude to you and you can’t get it out of your head. You don’t make it into a group, a dance, a show and you feel like a part of your soul has been crushed. Your team loses and it feels like a personal hit. You say something rude and feel like it completely changes how everyone looks at you. Sometimes, when the weight gets to be too much, I let my anger out at my friends, my family. Sometimes, I cry at the smallest thing. Sometimes, I feel violent and I want to hit something. Sometimes, I just want to scream until I pass out…But I can’t. “Keep your chin up…you have to keep going…focus on your classes, ignore what’s bothering you…” But it doesn’t work that way. Ignoring the weight doesn’t get rid of it.

“Cast your cares (or burdens) on the LORD and He will sustain you” (Psalm 55:22b, NIV)

Cast = to throw or move (something) in a forceful way,   to send or direct (something) in the direction of someone or something, to throw off or away, to get rid of

Cares = suffering of mind, a disquieted state of mixed uncertainty, apprehension, and responsibility,  a cause for such anxiety

Burdens = something oppressive or worrisome, something that is carried (duty, responsibility)

Sustain = to give support or relief to, to support the weight of, to buoy up, to bear up under

This verse tells us that we must completely let go. That doesn’t mean that we can’t keep praying about it. It’s a burden when it is weighing down your mind, when it puts your mind in a state of disquiet that you need to throw it to God. Psalm 55 says that He will sustain you. But we have to give him our cares, our burdens first. Why? It shows that we trust Him to care for us. It shows a willingness to step out in faith. It acknowledges that we are not strong enough on our own. And when you do cast your cares on Him? Peace comes…peace that passes understanding. He nourishes your soul, soothes you mind, mends your heart…because you’ve decided to rest in His arms, you’ve decided to trust Him.

This is something that you have to choose to do every day. It means taking a couple minutes out of your day, daily, to give up your cares and then STOP STRESSING ABOUT THEM. If you’re still worrying about them, still stressing out about it, have you truly given them up?

Thoughts from a girl who’s struggling to cast her cares on God.

Leave a Reply

